Shostakovich cello concerto no.1

"A grandiose piece with a glorious orchestra part"

We’re very excited to be playing Shostakovich’s first cello concerto in November with an exceptional soloist, Marina Martins.

The concerto, widely considered to be one of the most difficult concert works for cellists, was written by the composer for his friend Rostropovich in 1959. The work is at once terrifying, dark, compelling and astonishingly beautiful.

Marina, born in 1999, is studying with Pieter Wispelwey at the Robert Schumann Hochschule in Düsseldorf, Germany. Born in New Zealand, she’s been playing the cello since the age of three and has studied at Wells Cathedral School with Richard May.

Having performed in many festivals across the world Marina has been awarded three first prizes in the Bath Mid-Somerset Festival and first prize in the Two Moors Festival Competition 2015, leading to recitals in their Autumn festival. In July 2017, she won first place in the Cremona Competition for Strings, earning her the opportunity to solo at the prestigious Giovanni Arvedi Auditorium as well as with the festival orchestra in 2018.

We asked Marina how she felt about performing the concerto with us. She said, "Shostakovich's 1st cello concerto is a fantastic and extremely important part of a cellist's repertoire. It is definitely one of the most grandiose pieces with a glorious orchestra part, it's very taxing for a soloist. I have tried to focus on how to produce a generous and projecting sound with as much relaxation as possible.

I am very much looking forward to performing this piece with Brunel Sinfonia and am sure we will have tremendous fun playing it together!"

Hear Marina perform the concerto with us on November 11 at 7.30pm in the Victoria Rooms, Clifton Bristol. Tickets available on the door or in advance through Opus Music, price £15, concessions £12, students (with NUS card) £5 and under 18s £1.



Add new comment

Latest News

Happy Christmas from Brunel Sinfonia

Join in with festive tunes from a live orchestra

For lots of us, Christmas is about tradition; putting up the same beloved but battered decorations on the tree, opening the final doors of your advent calendar on the 24 December, the first of many mince pies.

But the festive season also involves a lot of hard work, rushing around, buying presents, food, doing all the jobs to make everything go smoothly.

Read More

Latest Tweet

RT : Brave the rain to support one of Bristol’s great amateur orchestras. The concerto is sounding gorgeous and…

Contact Us

Whether you are interested in joining the orchestra, or are looking for more information about upcoming concerts, we have a number of ways to get in contact with us. Please use the links below to access our contact form and our social media accounts.